The Therapy of Running — Metaphor to overcome tragedy


Barack Obama to the country memorializing the wounded of the Boston Marathon…”You will run again.”  Simple, yet powerful words. Immediately the metaphor sparked images to me.

RunningI am a runner. I have never, regrettably in some ways, run a marathon. I have run every day (just about) for well over thirty years. It has been my salvation,  my moments to ponder my life, and my celebration. It is something I do, and probably not all that well, for me which I simply will not stop. It is my therapy and at the same time motivates me. I get my best ideas when running. It  fosters my creativity, and a time when I usually feel in tune with myself and my world.

I have done this for years and  allow almost nothing to stand in my way of running, injuries, ice, snow, whatever.  I know how much the act of running means to me, but I had yet to think about it on a more cerebral, introspective level. I run because I can, because I must, and maybe because I shouldn’t. I have heard the president’s words resonating in my head all day, haunting me in a way that compels me to send out a message: Running is a metaphor for life.

I run at my own pace. I challenge myself as I see appropriate. I enjoy the daily sameness and almost mindlessness that other exercise doesn’t allow. I take in the world around me and yes, it is my moment to be grateful, to feel lucky and to assess what I need to do better.  So when the President said those words, “You will run again…” it symbolizes so much. The community in Boston, our country and even the world was all shocked by this horrific event during one of our country’s sacred rituals. It violates in so many ways. This event, all positive, people striving to challenge themselves, some running for charities, and yes, those who this is actually their job, all there for a different, yet honorable purpose.

So regardless of who you are or where you are in your life, the words, you will run again, apply. We all have to pick ourselves up at one time or another and just fight back against those that try to destroy us. You must be strong and not allow the haters or the naysayers to defeat. It is relevant in the light of Sheryl Sandberg’s LEAN IN. Don’t let anyone take away your dreams or your passion, not for anything. Don’t wait or expect someone to knock on the door telling you you’re great or you are perfect for this job. Go out and claim your turf. Work your hardest and don’t allow any room for negativity. Just move forward. And I say, don’t look back.                                       headlands-run-7.17

Categories: Boston Marathon Tragedy, Lean In, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

