Business for design–The legacy from Steve Jobs to Us


“…brave enough to think differently, bold enough to believe he could change the world, and talented enough to do it.”

In tribute to the life of Steve Jobs, from President Barack Obama

This world event had a profound effect on me. I have been thinking of the impact of this man on my life and on the world–things I just took for granted. I like many others revel in my use of Apple products, not thinking too much about their design and innovation. I rarely take the time to remark “wow what a design” or ” I love my mac”.  And without question, I am a repeat consumer.

So, why did this man I never met, whose products enhance my daily life, have an impact now of all times on me?  Why has he become so much more important in death? It greatly surpasses the latest ipad, iphone, ipod or macbook.

Simply said, we never appreciate what we have until its gone… there have been so many beautiful, meaningful tributes about a computer entrepreneur. This was a life dedicated to high standards, being the best you can be, and never giving up. Although we have seemingly so little in common, those things resonate with me. The death of Steve Jobs rekindled my purpose. I am reminded that I have dreams and I should not give up. The mediocrity of many should not stop me from moving ahead. Stand true to what you believe and do what you know you need to do. Do not fear failure. It makes you better.   The speech from the Stanford graduation of 2005 should be required listening for every high school student.

“Your time is limited, so don’t waste it living someone else’s life. Don’t be trapped by dogma — which is living with the results of other people’s thinking. Don’t let the noise of others’ opinions drown out your own inner voice. And most important, have the courage to follow your heart and intuition. They somehow already know what you truly want to become. Everything else is secondary.” (Steve Jobs to graduates at the Stanford commencement 2005)

My mantra has been make crisis an opportunity. Jobs did not use these words per se but he lived it. And for that reminder, a reminder we all need from time to time, I say thank you Steve Jobs. Your life and who you were has touched millions. The world is ever changed from your presence. Your death gave me an opportunity to energize my life and my passions. May you rest in peace.

Categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

